Game Boxscore:

   « Go Back
Albany Athletics (4), Albany Senators (1)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E
Albany Athletics 1 0 0 0 3 0 0 4 7 1
Albany Senators 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0


The #1 seeded Albany Athletics completed a three game sweep with a 4-1 victory over the #3 seeded Albany Senators to win their 9th Twilight League Championship and 15th consecutive game.  Harold Finkle Award Winner (Playoff MVP) Zach Breen spun a 3-hitter and struck out 13 batters to earn his second win of the playoffs.  Breen went 2-0, had 2 saves, 26 strikeouts and yielded 1 earned run and 5 hits in 15.2 innings during the A's five wins in the semifinals and finals.     Meanwhile, Nate Novak got the A's on the board in the first inning with a solo homerun.  The Senators tied it in the second inning on a fielders choice RBI by Chace Crawford.  The Senators Caleb  Gregg retired 10 straight batters until the fifth inning when the Athletics opened the inning with five singles in the first six batters striking for three runs.  Greg Sulz and Cam Overbaugh's singles each drove in runs in the inning.  RJ Pingitore and Craig Mastroianni each finished the game with 2 singles.    The Senators had a chance to tie it in the 6th with two runners on and one out but Breen fanned the final two batters of the inning to hold the lead.  Cullen Schlutow singled, doubled and scored the Senators lone run.    For the Athletics, they continue their dominance in the league having gone undefeated the last three years in the playoffs with a 15-0 record while winning three straight championships for the second time in their history.  The A's also move into second all-time in League Championships with their 9th tonight, all coming since 2006. They will continue their postseason on Thursday in Boston advancing to the East Coast World Series.