Game Boxscore:

   « Go Back
Albany Senators (1), Albany Athletics (2)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E
Albany Senators 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 1
Albany Athletics 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 3 0


A's righthander Zach Breen twirled a two-hitter and struck out 15 batters to lead the Albany Athletics to a 2-1 win over the Senators and its record breaking 10th Twilight League championship.  The A's have now also won a record four straight titles. Previously the Athletics had won three straight on two occasions and broke their own record.    Breen only yielded a solo homer to Garrett Klahr who tied the game in the second inning, and a single by Klahr. He walked no batters and only allowed one runner to get to second base.    Meanwhile Greg Sulz singled in Dan Barbero in the first inning for an early 1-0 lead, and Austin Lawrence hit a tie-breaking solo shot in the third inning.   The Athletics faced elimination twice in the playoffs, once in the semifinals and once in the finals, the first time since 2015.    Chris Salamida was named Harold Finkle Award Winner (Playoff MVP) for going 2-1 with a save and two complete games while striking out 35 batters and giving up 11 hits and 3 earned runs in 19.2 innings. Dan Barbero finished the playoffs 7-for-20, 6 RBI and 3 homeruns.